The fifth book of Moses called


The Greek title "Deuteronomy" literally translates to mean "second law". This title was derived from a mistranslation in the Septuagint (Ancient Greek translation of the Old Covenant) of Deuteronomy 17:18;

Deuteronomy 17:18

18 "Also it shall be, when he sits on the throne of his kingdom, that he shall write for himself a copy of this law in a book, from the one before the priests, the Levites.

The proper translation is in the Jewish Publication Society and the King James Version, "...that he shall write him a copy of this law in a book." This book contains, not a second law, but a repetition and expansion of the laws in the previous four books of what makes up the Pentateuch (the Torah or The five Books of Moses).

The Jewish Bible refers to this book by the third and fourth words of the Hebrew text "D'varim" or "Devarim" which mean "The Words".

Go to Deuteronomy Menu

Return to Bible Books Menu

Return to Main Menu